Keys To Success

2500+ Completed Cases

15 Awards

15+ Years of Experience

If you have weapons charges against you in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Glendale or Tempe, you need a lawyer who is familiar with state weapons regulations.

In the last 20 years, gun control legislation has changed many of the legal requirements pertaining to gun owners and authorized gun dealers. Federal initiatives to target gun owners can sometimes result in entrapment and harassment of gun owners and gun dealers. If you have been accused of illegally possessing a firearm, illegally modifying a firearm, or violating parole or probation by having a firearm in your possession, you will need the legal expertise of Ryan M. Garvey, a Scottsdale criminal defense attorney who can create an effective defense for your case.

Arizona weapons offense laws are extremely complicated and can result in felony or misdemeanor charges, which need to be handled by an experienced criminal defense attorney. Even if you have no previous record and are not a prohibited possessor, charges can still be filed against you. If you possess certain rifles and shotguns that have barrels shortened beyond the minimum barrel length, or other illegal weapons such as automatic machine guns and nunchucks, you could be found guilty of a weapons charge.

Classifying Weapons Charges

Arizona law divides weapons charges into four different classifications. Each has a varying level of severity, depending on the particular circumstances, type of weapon involved, and the nature of the crime.

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor (up to 6 months in jail):
    • Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit
    • Carrying a lethal weapon into public locations, such as schools, election polls, or events where one does not have permission to attend
  • Class 6 felony (up to 1 year in prison):
    • Selling or transferring a weapon to someone who does not have legal authority to possess it
    • Defacing a lethal weapon
    • Possessing a defaced lethal weapon
  • Class 4 felony (up to 2 ¬Ĺ years in prison):
    • Manufacturing, selling, or possessing a weapon unlawfully
    • Possessing a deadly weapon if you are unauthorized under the law
    • Possessing a deadly weapon to commit another felony
    • Entering a nuclear plant with a deadly weapon
  • Class 3 felony (up to 3 years in prison):
    • Discharging a firearm in known gang areas
    • Transferring a weapon to someone, knowing that he or she will commit a felony
    • Using a lethal weapon to commit terrorism

Effective & Strategic Legal Advocacy

A Scottsdale based criminal defense lawyer, Ryan M. Garvey has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to weapons charges. If you have previously been convicted of a felony, are on probation, or have been convicted of certain domestic violence offenses, your right to legally possess a gun or other weapon could be stripped from you.

Under Arizona law, such persons are considered to be prohibited possessors. Possession of a gun by a prohibited possessor is a class 4 felony offense in Arizona. Because the person charged with being a prohibited possessor typically has at least one prior felony conviction, any additional conviction is subject to Arizona’s mandatory sentencing laws for repeat offenders, requiring a prison sentence for second and subsequent felony convictions.

Due to the complicated nature of Arizona weapons laws, you need to have an experienced trial attorney to defend your legal rights. To avoid a drastic weapons charge conviction, contact Sonoran Law Group to receive legal advice pertaining to your weapons offense in Phoenix, Glendale, Scottsdale, or Tempe.